Join Backwoods email

get email updates on specials and events

17846 Sierra Hwy. Canyon Country, CA 91351

Hours
 
Reservations are suggested.
 
Sunday - open at 4 p.m. until closing
 
Monday - Saturday 11:30 a.m. until closing.

Lunch is served from 11:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.  

Dinner may be ordered all day long.

Please call for holiday schedules - hours may change (661) 252-5522

 

WOODLAND HILLS, CA

 

8/23/2012

The service at Backwoods in is impeccable. Their food is fantastic and the ambiance is very relaxing. I had the prime rib and stuffed potato, and it was delicious. The manager was very professional and made us feel welcome. He walked around to all the tables and made sure that everyone was satisfied with their dining experience. I would highly recommend Backwoods Inn to any lover of great food. It is sure worth the trip even if you don't live in the immediate area.
Richard

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CANYON CNTRY, CA

 8/22/2012

I joined this yelp thing just to post this review.  I read through some of the posts and can not understand how customers can say they hate something when they have only tried it once.  when I find a restaurant that is what I consider 'bad' (or good) either service or food; I will usually try them at least one more time to see if I hit them on an off day.  when I read a 1 and done review - I kind of question if it is a competitor or just a complainer...anyway......

We stopped into Backwoods because we know it and it is a locals place and should be quicker sitting and quieter for talking...surprise...seemed like a lot of people had the same idea that night.  Even the waitress, busboys, bartender commented how unusual the crowd was when we asked them what was going on.  We waited in the bar and we were both able to get seats...not a bad wait, 20 minutes or so.

We were concerned that the over crowd might have depleted their inventory or food might be coming out cold or rushed...not the case.  Salad was fresh and cold, the steaks were warm and cooked to order.  Sides were all hot and tasty.
(BY THE WAY...THEIR BEEF IS AGED, IF YOUR NOT USED TO EATING AGED BEEF OR JUST USED TO OUTBACK, YOU WILL TASTE A DIFFERENCE...IT IS SUPPOSE TO TASTE A LITTLE DIFFERENT.  EAT MORE STEAK - LEARN THE FLAVORS - EVERYTHING IS NOT SUPPOSE TO TASTE LIKE OUTBACK OR COSTCO BEEF (which are not bad in themselves)... IF YOU TRY IT A COUPLE OF TIMES AND DON'T LIKE IT...ORDER PORK CHOPS, THE FLAVOR OF AGED BEEF WILL NOT CHANGE FROM THE WAY IT IS SUPPOSE TO TASTE!)

Well, as the night went on the waitresses, busboys, everybody was darting back and forth, our dishes were picked up without asking, water glasses were kept full, there was no pressure to leave.  Desert was offered, we joked with the waitress on how this was like an ending episode of Hell's kitchen - where they are on a make or break after the reopening...and they pulled it off.  My waitress was very proud of their effort that night for they really were unexpectedly busy and asked me to tell her manager what I said/thought...I did and he asked if I would 'Yelp' it...

Well here you go...my 1st yelp as promised...your crew all stepped up and delivered a good dinner with outstanding service under pressure late in the evening.  If you want an 'old school' local steakhouse, then give them a try.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Acton, CA

 8/22/2012

Awesome Food & Awesome Staff ! Been going here for years ..

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CANYON CNTRY, CA

 8/7/2012

I've been coming here for about 28 years and still better than ever! I used to drive an hour to get here to get a great Ribeye or Porterhouse. The Crab and Lobster is an excellent treat. The Prime Rib is also really good for a change.

I live closer now and get here for lunch.They have a great selection with Brochette of Beef (Kabobs) and the Fried Chicken Is awesome. You can get the Twice Baked Potatoes anytime and they are the best aanywhere.

Give this place a shot for lunch or dinner, they have real high quality food for real resonable prices. They have a full service bar and the people are really friendly.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Santa Clarita, CA

 7/23/2012

This place is awesome. End of story. 5 thumbs up 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stevenson Ranch, CA

 4/21/2012

Always great food and awesome service.  I sit at the bar and Cathy always knows my drink and that I like to talk.  She is a delight every time and never makes me feel like I'm bothering her, as some places do.  If you want personal attention make Backwoods Inn a regular stop.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Canyon Country, CA

 4/7/2011

The Backwoods Inn is BACK!  Having eaten at the Backwoods Inn for 40+ years, the last few years we had been disappointed in the inconsistant quality of the food, and the uptight feeling of the waitstaff.  Our weekly visits to the Backwoods Inn had dwindled to a few times a year, but I'm happy to say that has changed!! The past few months we've made several visits to the Backwoods Inn, and everytime the FOOD has been AMAZING, plus the friendliness of the employees has added a whole new wonderful vibe to the restaurant that had been missing.  Kudos to Alan, Patty, Melissa, Janet, Lori, Joyce and Ruth ...

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Palmdale, CA

 2/14/2011

I have been going to The Backwood Inn for many years.  I have never been dissapointed.  Their steaks are as good as anywhere you will ever go.  The atmosphere is fantastic and the whole crew there are friendly do a great job.  I give this place my highest rating.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Santa Clarita, CA

 1/30/2011

The wait for a table can be a lttle long at times but that should tell you the food is good I am all ways pleased with the food here

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Canyon Country, CA

 12/10/2009

Our family loves the Backwoods more than any other restaurant in Santa Clarita. We are Canyon Country natives and have been dining there for the past 30 years or more. I gave Backwoods 4 stars because I am utterly sick and tired of hearing the weekend bartender yell at the girls (waitresses) when they don't take straws out of glasses and watch him have a cocky attitude towards customers if he is busy. I'm also fed up with the patron waitress who takes 10 minutes to get to our table and then has a bus boy or another server bring drinks and salads and sometimes even the check on a bread plate. I know everyone on a first name basis, the food is wonderful and most of the staff are amazing. They are known for having clam chowder and another house soup I haven't been offered the potato or bean soup lately so I've been pretty upset but the quality of meat is outstanding. Backwoods we love you

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Canyon Country, CA

 2/8/2009

My wife and I fled the cramped and classless atmosphere of Frankie's New York Italian Restaurant without even having a drink and headed for the Backwoods Inn.  The "Inn" is the sort of place that never disappoints.  It is as familiar and comfortable as a slipper.  Everyone has a restaurant like this in reserve that is always pulling them back, year after year.  Dark, sawdust floor, homey waitresses, surf and turf, and generous cocktails poured cold.  I enjoyed steak and lobster and my wife had prime rib.  The salad, garlic bread, and shrimp cocktail were tasty.  The service was just great, we had another of the endless army of wisecracking waitresses they seem to have a lock on there.  The bar pours rye, which is difficult to find in restaurants these days.  The Backwoods Inn is not fancy and has the worst wine list on earth, but like Clearman's  and the North Woods Inn, it satisfies some primal longing for eating meat in darkness and sawdust.  Go figure.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Santa Clarita, CA

 Update - 8/25/2012

Great atmosphere, fabulous food, never a disappointment!